Straws


This is my first attempt at writing a song. I have written this song from the perspective of a lover with a chronic lung disease. It primarily speaks about Cystic Fibrosis, but this is for all my friends fighting disease in which their ability to breathe is seriously compromised; Cystic Fibrosis, Bronchiectatsis, Metastatic Lung Cancer and Muscular Dystrophy and Congenital Heart Disease, to name a few. This is not an exhaustive list.

Many of my friends fight to breathe every single day. They are illnesses which are not well known or heard of. They do not receive the media attention that conditions such as Cancer do. Many of my friends are going to require lung/or heart transplants in the coming years. Everyday they require oxygen therapy, nebulisers, CPAP/BPAP masks, chest physio, peg feeds and dozens of medications so that their bodies can fight as well as possible.

The following link is to a song called ‘Youth’ by Daughter. She sings of chronic lung disease also.

I love each and every one of you

Jess xxx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kuC2sc-1CMU

………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

tumblr_lypuc4ThQ61ql0fnho1_500_large[1]

Made of yellow and cooper kiss
Begin to hear my slow and tragic hiss
Beneath the heat of stars with night
Know that my breath isn’t lost from my fight

katie kirkpatricl

I am paper flowers in your arms
I suffocate you with my calm
Why won’t you leave me gasping for breath
Not drown us in your fear of my supposed death

tumblr_m6ye3806mX1rnywbmo1_500_large

Here we lie breathing through straws
White coats claim we fell short of the draw
We are red roses full and thorned
Our lungs hang crackled and adorned

634053868336193373_large

Nose rings lose to plastic snakes
And I can’t help but wonder what it will take
For your eyes to forget what rests above my lips
And to remember your love against my hips

katie-kirkpatrick-nick-sleeping-in-hospital

The truth is we haven’t any time
To determine what is yours and mine
All too slowly moving up the list
Let not lose ourselves to wist

65 roses

Here we lie breathing through straws
White coats claim we fell short of the draw
We are red roses full and thorned
Our lungs hang crackled and adorned

tumblr_lro5r93BjI1qzdiqvo1_500_large_large[1]

Arch against me in the sheets
Do not listen for my ragged beat
See not my lung but my breast
Meet my lips until you too must rest

tumblr_luz1sq6zVl1qhzgapo1_400_large[1]

Here we lie breathing through straws
White coats claim we fell short of the draw
We are red roses full and thorned
Our lungs hang crackled and adorned

bosw_large

And for as long as the cure fails to come
I am left to weep at what we have become
We are Friday Night Fights and spitted hate
Nebulisers, pegs and body weight

Favim.com-7010_large[1]

When did we become one with disease
Our love is lost to the seas
We fail to surface, drowning still
It’s time you fed me another coated pill

new-blog-5-biger-painted.jpg

Here we lie breathing through straws
White coats claim we fell short of the draw
We are red roses full and thorned
Our lungs hang crackled and adorned

girl heavens

I slap at your heart, and you scream into mine
Forever awaiting our planets to align
But we needn’t them now, nor did we ever
No matter how hard the doctors endeavour

Love-on-the-Transplant-List01

Together we share our broken straw
And make love to our tragic flaw
For we are a beautiful tragedy, full and true
And we will be sorry when I have to leave you

2557234859_b883d47468_large[1]

Here we lie breathing through straws
White coats claim we fell short of the draw
We are red roses full and thorned
Our lungs hang crackled and adorned

00008996-OES-bride-008

But that isn’t tonight, so come my love
You are yet to fly a mourning dove
Kiss my bones and tend to my scars
And know that above all, this love is ours

One thought on “Straws

Leave a Reply

